Club Championship

Each year the WA Marathon Club awards the most outstanding female and male performance over seven events from the nominated Club Championship events on the annual Programme, in each of the age groups.

The WAMC likes to recognise our outstanding performers and volunteers each year, so we have annual awards that are presented at the Summer Sundowner each year.

For the age groups 60 years and over, the eligibility shall be reduced to five events from the nominated Club Championship events.

Where a member changes age groups during the period, the events contested at the older age group may be included in the eight events for the lower age group award. However, events contested at the lower age group cannot be included in the eight events for the older age group award. A member may become eligible for two age group awards during the one award period (i.e. has the best performance in eight events in both age groups - this requires a minimum of 16 events).

Under 16 Awards will be made to members under 16 years of age, based on the most outstanding female and male performance over three events having a maximum distance of 5km (any WAMC events, not necessarily those nominated as Club Championship events due to the distance limitation). If a member attains the age of 16 during the year, races in which the member competes from the birthday on may be counted for the purpose of the 16 to 19 age group as above.

A Club Championship rating system based on running pace is used to determine the age group and overall champions each year.

2022 Championship Races

1Burswood Twilight5km
2Matilda Bay Run10km
3Peninsula Run10km
4John Forrest Trail Run13km
5Point Walter Run16km
6Darlington Half Marathon & 8km21.1km
7ASICS Bridges Fun Run10km
8Perth 3232km
9Fremantle Ports Harbour Master Classic Fun Run10km
10Brooks Joondalup Half Marathon & 5km5km
11Brooks Joondalup Half Marathon & 5km21.1km
12RunFun Travel Rottnest Running Festival42.2km
13Col Junner Spring To It Run10km
14Shelley Loop10km
15Perth Half Marathon & 5km21.1km
16Cyril Norman Lake Gwelup10km
17Women's Classic Fun Run10km
18Perth Marathon & Relay42.2km
19Wally Cairns Pancake Run15km
20John Gilmour Track Race10km
21Deepwater Point15km
22Brooks Fremantle Running Festival21.1km
23Founders City Beach Cup8km
24New Years Eve Run8km

2021 Championship series winners

Overall champions

Lauren French


Thomas Heal


President's trophy
most improved

Laura Kyriakacis

Lazarus Award

Loretta Shillinglaw

Tony Barugh
outstanding volunteer

Daryl Johnson

Age group champions

Olivia HilsonU12U12Lawson Straw
Alicia ColesU16U16Dante Armstrong
No winner16-1916-19Mitchell Crook
Katie Simpson20-2420-24No winner
No winner25-2925-29Gonzalo Sepulveda
Laura Kyriakacis30-3430-34Daniel Bobridge
Lauren French35-3935-39Tris Christian
Sarah Paduano40-4440-44Thomas Heal
Deb Anderson45-4945-49Matt Measures
Heather Longworth50-5450-54Robert Kay
Sandra Stockman55-5955-59Stephen Stockwell
Sue Zlnay60-6460-64Kevin Johnson
Susie Clifton65-6965-69Simon Maclaurin
Marie-paule Teoh70-7470-74Keith Miller
Jo Ormsby75-7975-79Arthur Twiss

Unsupported browser

There are some features on our website that don't work for you. Learn how to fix.